Political Heads

Regional Minister

Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah

Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah is the Minister responsible for the Western Region of Ghana. Prior to his appointment in April 2019, he had served as Deputy Minister for the Ministry of A viation.

Kobby as he is popularly addressed by the young, old and corporate people, is also the Member of Parliament for the Oil City of Takoradi. He is in his 3rd term as Member of Parliament.

Read More

Former Deputy Regional Minister

Hon. Gifty Eugenia Kusi

Hon. Gifty E. Kusi(Mrs.) is the Hon. Deputy Regional Minister. She holds a B.A. Sociology Degree in 1984 from the University of Ghana and an MPhil. Degree in Medical Sociology at the University of Ghana in 1999.

She was employed at the University of Ghana Medical Sch. Community Health Department in 1991 as a senior research assistant and promoted to principal research assistant and rose to become a Lecturer in Medical Sociology whilst in Parliament from 2006 to 2016.

Read More

Administrative Heads

Former Chief Director

Mr. Michael B. Ataogye

Mr. Michael B. Ataogye is the Chief Director at the Western Regional Co-ordinating Council (WRCC), Sekondi.

Prior to his appointment in February 2019, he had served as Co-ordinating Director for the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly, Obuasi and Asokore Mampong Municipal Assemblies, the Asante Akim North (now Central), Ejura -Sekyedumase District (now Municipal) and the Asante Akim District (now Municipal) Assemblies, all in the Ashanti Region from August 2003 to February 2019.
Read More

Regional Budget Analyst

Mr Daniel Ofosu Adjei

To be updated…

Regional Economic Planning Officer

Gabriel A. Nfodzo


Regional Human Resource Manager

Michael D Abayateye

M.D Abayateye possesses over 8 years experience in Human Resource Management in the Local Government Service spanning all the levels of the Local Government Structure. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology & Political Science from the University of Ghana-Legon, a post graduate diploma in Human Resource Management from the New Horizon School in Cape Town and a Master of Public Policy from the Yeungnam University. He is currently a student-member of Chartered Institute of Personnel Development (CIPD-UK) pursuing Advanced Level diploma in HR Management.

Chief Internal Auditor

Procurement Officer

MIS / IT Manager

Bismark Amoah

Bismark Amoah holds a Bachelors Degree in Information Technology from the University of Education Winneba and currently reading Masters in Management Information Systems at Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA), aside these degrees he also has a CCNA Certificate from Ghana Technology University College and a certificate in Project Management. His job career started as an Elective Mathematics and ICT tutor at St. Augustine’s Senior High School, Bogoso and currently the MIS Manager at the Western regional Coordinating Council. You may contact him via amoah.bismark@wrcc.gov.gh.

Public Relations Officer

Chief Transport Officer

Matthew Kyei

Chief Estate Manager

Joseph Coppson

Regional Environmental Health Officer


Date Of Birth : 6TH JUNE, 1964







Regional Accountant

Mr John Dadzie


Regional Co-ordinating Directorate

The Regional Co-ordinating Director / Chief Director is the next in command and is the administrative head. He superintends over the Regional Co-ordinating Directorate made up of four (4) divisions –Finance and Administration, Human Resource, Regional Planning and Budget.   His office also serves as the Central Secretariat of the Office of the RCC and the focal point for general administration, monitoring, co-ordinating and harmonizing departmental and public sector activities in the Region as well as those in the Districts.

Departments of the RCC

There are twenty-two (22) Decentralized Departments (Section 196 of the Local Governance Act, 2016 [Act 936]) which are present and working at the WRCC namely:

  1. Department of Social Protection;
  2. Department of Community Development;
  3. Department of Town and Country Planning
  4. Public Works Department
  5. Department of Parks and Gardens
  6. Department of Housing
  7. National Board for Small-Scale Industries
  8. Registry of Births and Deaths
  9. Controller and Accountant-General’s Department
  10. Department of Feeder Roads
  11. Department of Urban Roads
  12. Veterinary Services Department
  13. Department of Agriculture
  14. Department of Agricultural Engineering
  15. National Sports Authority
  16. National Youth Authority
  17. Education Service
  18. Ghana Library Authority
  19. Health Service
  20. Statistical Service
  21. Department of Children and,
  22. Department of Women

Other subvented Agencies in the Region are:

  • Land Valuation Board
  • National Commission for Civic Education (NCCE)
  • Lands Commission
  • Stool Lands Secretariat
  • Registrar General’s Department
  • National Service Secretariat
  • Electoral Commission
  • Commission on Human Rights & Administration Justice
  • Attorney General’s Department
  • Ghana Standards Authority
  • Food and Drugs Authority
  • Driver and Vehicle licensing Authority
  • Ghana Revenue Authority